National Yacht Club Sailing Achievement Awards

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailThe National Yacht Club has nine annual awards for outstanding sailing achievements by members of the Club. Arising from nominations received from members of the Committee and Sailing Sub Committee, the awards for the 2007 season are as follows: The Township Cup – which was given to our predecessors, the Edward Yacht Club, as a small cruise challenge cup in 1927, is now awarded for the most impressive cruise – Conor O Regan and Henrietta Senkowsky for their circumnavigation of the globe in their Rival 38 ‘Panima’. The Muglins Cup – which was presented by past member and Commodore Mr. J.J O’Leary in 1946 and is now awarded for the most interesting family cruise – John Roberts and his family for their cruise in his Jeanneau 54 “Quite Correct” from Dun Laoghaire to Portugal and back. The Boyne Regatta Cup – originally presented by the “Kingstown Harbour Boat Club” in 1870 is now awarded for the best performance in offshore racing – Philip Dilworth in his Grand Soleil 42 ”Orna” for his class victory in the 2007 Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race. The O’Leary Cup – presented to the NYC in 1984 by Michael O’Leary for the best performance in one designs – Ann Kirwan and Brian Cullen for their highly successful season in their Ruffian 23 ’Ruff n Ready’, including winning the prize for top one design boat in the Dun Laoghaire Regatta. The Edward Yacht Club Trophy – presented by the officers of H.M. Naval Base, Kingstown in 1919 is now awarded for the best performance in Dinghies, Mermaids or Flying Fifteens – David Gorman for successful year in the Flying Fifteen class including winning the class in the Dun Laoghaire Regatta and finishing top of the class rankings. The John Byrne Memorial Trophy – presented to the NYC by Mrs. Hilda Byrne and her family in 1989 in memory of her husband and past Commodore, John is awarded for the greatest contribution to sailing in the NYC during the year – Cormac and Barbara Mc Henry for their success in the Irish Cruising Club – Cormac as Commodore for the last 3 years and Hon Sec for almost a decade before that and Barbara for her position as Club archivist for many years. Winkelmann Trophy – presented to the NYC by Mrs. Carmel Winkelmann in 2003 and awarded to the Cadet Member who is deemed by his/ her sailing ability to be ‘Cadet of the Year’ – Annalise Murphy for a very successful season in the Laser Radial Class including finishing 10th at the Class Youth World Championships and winning the Irish Ladies Helms Championships. The Greystones 1892 Regatta Cup – presented by Col D’oyly Battley and now awarded to the NYC members who have, as a team, represented the Club with distinction – the European Laser 4.7 Championships Organising team led by Event Organiser Cathy Mac Aleavey and Principle Race Officer Jack Roy, for organizing and running a widely acclaimed superb event. The Commodores Prize for 2007 has been awarded to Adam Winkelmann for his outstanding result in finishing runner up against top class competition in the 2007 European 1720 Championships hosted by the Club in July. The awards were presented and the special achievements of these members celebrated at the Sailing Awards Dinner in the Club on Saturday 31st March 2008. Con Murphy Commodore