Sailing Awards for 2009 Season

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailNational Yacht Club Sailing Awards awards_dinner_10_31The National Yacht Club has ten annual awards for outstanding sailing achievements by members of the Club. The awards were presented and the achievements of these members celebrated at the Sailing Awards Dinner in the Club on Saturday 27th February 2010. awards_dinner_10_66Minister Mary Hanafin was the  guest of honour for the occasion and she presented the awards on the night. Also present was Johanna Murphy, daughter of our esteemed late member and international race judge, Paul Murphy. Johanna presented the new Paul Murphy  Cup this year  in his memory.   Photographs of the event can be seen on the Clubhouse Gallery on the website. Arising from nominations received from members of the Committee and Sailing Sub Committee, the awards for the 2009 season were as follows: awards_dinner_10_32The Township Cup – which was given to our predecessors, the Edward Yacht Club, as a small cruise challenge cup in 1927, is now awarded for the most impressive cruise – Cormac Mc Henry in Island Life for his solo cruise to the Azores and subsequent cruise to Portugal with his wife Barbara.    awards_dinner_10_34The Muglins Cup – which was presented by past member and Commodore Mr. J.J O’Leary in 1946 and is now awarded for the most interesting family cruise – Liam Shanahan Snr for his cruise in rough conditions to Britanny via the Scillies with grandchildren Ben and William in his Oceanis 47.3 Emir Herr.   awards_dinner_10_36The Boyne Regatta Cup – originally presented by the “Kingstown Harbour Boat Club” in 1870 is now awarded for the best performance in offshore racing – Vincent Farrellin his Beneteau 40.7 Tsunami for comprehensively winning the highly competitive 2009 ISORA series.   awards_dinner_10_37The O’Leary Cup – presented to the NYC in 1984 by Michael O’Leary for the best performance in one designs – Annalise Murphy for her superb season in the Olympic Women’s Laser Radial, including winning a Europa Cup event, finishing 8th and Under 21 Champion at the class World Championships in Japan and being the winner of Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne regattas ‘Down Under Series’. awards_dinner_10_38The Edward Yacht Club Trophy – presented by the officers of H.M. Naval Base, Kingstown in 1919 is now awarded for the best performance in Dinghies, Mermaids or Flying Fifteens – Francis Rowan and his team mate Tom Gillard for finishing 3rd overall in the 2009 Fireball European Championships and 8th in the World Championships in a 100 boat fleet at La Rochelle. awards_dinner_10_41The John Byrne Memorial Trophy– presented to the NYC by Mrs. Hilda Byrne and her family in 1989 in memory of her husband and past Commodore, John is awarded for the greatest contribution to sailing in the NYC during the year – Sandra Moorefor her dedication behind the scenes in organizing the flagships and volunteers for the Club’s sailing events and management the race office at the Clubs and other Dun Laoghaire events for many years. awards_dinner_10_39Winkelmann Trophy– presented to the NYC by Mrs. Carmel Winkelmann in 2003 and awarded to the Cadet Member who is deemed by his/ her sailing ability to be ‘Cadet of the Year’ – Finn Murphy for his full and varied transition year sailing programme that included a Hobie 16 campaign for Youth Worlds selection, the Club cruise to Brittany, qualifying as a junior sailing instructor, crewing the Volvo 70 Puma White and finishing the best NYC Cadet at the Irish Laser Nationals. awards_dinner_10_43The Greystones 1892 Regatta Cup– presented by Col D’oyly Battley and now awarded to the NYC members who have, as a team, represented the Club with distinction – Philip Smyth and his team members Brian Craig and Ciara Dowlingfor their enormous dedication and professionalism in leading and facilitating the main organizing committees of the hugely successful 2009 Dun Laoghaire Regatta. awards_dinner_10_47The Commodore’s Prize originally presented by Commodore Chris Moore to the winner of the last Dublin Bay 24ft race in the 2004 Regatta, has been awarded to Johnny Smullen for his role as shore manager of the Green Dragon, that ensured her successful completion of the long and gruelling 2008/9 Volvo Ocean Race. Johnny was unable to be present and the award was taken by his father John “Cas” Smullen. Johnny sent the following acceptance letter: johnny_smullen_reply   awards_dinner_10_44The Paul Murphy Cup – presented to the NYC in 2009 in memory of Club member and International Judge, Paul Murphy to be awarded to the Club’s Race Management Volunteer who contributed most to the highest standard of race and event management at the Club – jointly awarded to Mal Nowlan and Dave Morley for their on the water support as principle mark layers to race officers at every event in the Club for several years and also for successfully introducing the new international standard of mark laying and equipment that has greatly enhanced the overall high standard of race management in Dublin Bay Each award winner was presented with a specially engraved “Leatherman” as a momento of the occasion. Peter Ryan Commodore