NYC Sailing Awards Winners

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmailThe NYC had their own Oscars on Thursday the 14th of March to celebrate club members achievement in 2012. NYC Olympic sailor Annalise Murphy was presented with the The John Byrne Memorial Trophy for the greatest contribution to sailing in the NYC during the yea.r, She also made a presentation of her London 2012 Olympic Campaign and experience. The awards presented were: NYC Prizegiving 2013_0013The Township Cup – which was given to our predecessors, the Edward Yacht Club, as a small cruise challenge cup in 1927, is now awarded for the most impressive cruise – is awarded to James Woods and Martin Mc Carthy for their 11 day Atlantic crossing in the Oyster 885 ‘Lush’.   NYC Prizegiving 2013_0026The Muglins Cup – which was presented by past member and Commodore Mr. J.J O’Leary in 1946 and is now awarded for the most interesting family cruise – is awarded to Cathy Mac Aleavey and her daughter Claudine for helping organise and sailing the highly successful 7 day, 140 mile Lakeland and Inland Waterways Ireland Raid from Lower Lough Erne to Killaloe and in their Shannon One Design ‘178’.   NYC Prizegiving 2013_0036The Boyne Regatta Cup – originally presented by the “Kingstown Harbour Boat Club” in 1870 is now awarded for the best performance in cruiser & offshore racing – is awarded to Peter Hall for winning the ISORA Class 2 division in his Beneteau First 34.7 ‘Adelie’.   NYC Prizegiving 2013_0048The O’Leary Cup – presented to the NYC in 1984 by Michael O’Leary for the best performance in one designs – is awarded to Berni and Michael Bryson and Mia Delaney for winning both the Scratch in their class in the Lambay Race and also the Lambay Lady in their Beneteau 31.7 ‘Bluefin’.   NYC Prizegiving 2013_0059The Edward Yacht Club Trophy – presented by the officers of H.M. Naval Base, Kingstown in 1919 is now awarded for the best performance in Dinghies, Mermaids or Flying Fifteens – is awarded to Jonathan O Rourke for winning the Irish Mermaid National Championships 2012 in a very competitive fleet at Skerries SC. NYC Prizegiving 2013_0175The John Byrne Memorial Trophy – presented to the NYC by Mrs. Hilda Byrne and her family in 1989 in memory of her husband and past Commodore, John is awarded for the greatest contribution to sailing in the NYC during the year – is awarded to Annalise Murphy for her superb London Olympic performance that included 4 race wins and brought great honour to the NYC. NYC Prizegiving 2013_0133The Winkelmann Trophy – presented to the NYC by Mrs. Carmel Winkelmann in 2003 and awarded to the Cadet Member who is deemed by his/ her sailing ability to be ‘Cadet of the Year’ – is awarded to Finn Lynch for his Silver Medal result representing Ireland in the Laser Radial class at the 2012 ISAF Youth Worlds on Dublin Bay, the best ever Irish result. NYC Prizegiving 2013_0079The Greystones 1892 Regatta Cup – presented by Col D’oyly Battley and now awarded to the NYC members who have, as a team, represented the Club with distinction – is awarded to the NYC shore team of the 4 Star Pizza ISAF Youth Worlds 2012 represented by Ruth Shanahan, Helen Cooney, Susan Spain, Rebecca Hall and Martin Lawless. NYC Prizegiving 2013_0087The Commodores Trophy originally presented by Commodore Chris Moore to the winner of the last Dublin Bay 24ft race in the 2004 Regatta, is awarded to Tony Fox for his successful 3 years as Commodore of Dublin Bay Sailing Club.   NYC Prizegiving 2013_0145The Paul Murphy Cup – presented to the NYC in 2009 in memory of Club member and International Judge, Paul Murphy to be awarded to the Club’s Race Management Volunteer who contributed most to the highest standard of race and event management at the Club – is awarded to Jack Roy for his selection and participation as an ISAF Race Officer in the London Olympic Games, the first Irish Olympic Games Race Officer.   Photographs by Chester