NYC Sailing Awards & Dinner – Saturday 9th February 2019


The National Yacht Club has thirteen annual awards for outstanding sailing achievements by members of the Club.  These awards are presented to the winners at our annual Sailing Awards Dinner on Saturday 9th February.   This promises to be one of the highlights of the year so please book early to avoid disappointment.  Congratulations to all the winners. Please see all the winners below: 

book your table with Tim or Louise 2805725  or email  /
Time:  7.30pm   Price €40.00 with a glass of prosecco on arrival 




The Township Cup (1927) for the best cruise

Liam Shanahan

The Muglins Cup (1945) for the most interesting family cruise

Patrick Madigan

The Boyne Regatta Cup (1870) for the best performance in offshore racing

Victoria Cox & Peter Dunlop

The O’Leary Cup (1945) for the best performance in one design

Chris Johnston & Crew

The Edward Yacht Club Trophy (1919) for the best performance in dinghies, Mermaids or Flying Fifteens.

David Gorman & Chris Dooley

The John Byrne Memorial Trophy (1989) for the greatest contribution to sailing in the NYC during the year.

Sarah Gorman

The Winkelmann Trophy for the best racing performance of an NYC Cadet member.

Clare Gorman

The Greystones 1891 Regatta Cup for the best team contribution to the Club.

Michael Horgan Jr

The Paul Murphy Cup for best Race Management Volunteer Contribution

Donal O’Sullivan 

The Commodore’s Award

Annalise Murphy

Martin Crotty Trophy Award for a younger Member who shows sailing endeavour

Patrick Hassett

Wild Geese Trophy

Mark Lyttle


Claudine Murphy
Nell Staunton
Chris Moore
Marcus Higgins