Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race – 2011

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail The Dingle Skellig Hotel Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race starts next Saturday at at 10am. The start line will be viewable off the east pier. Come down and have a look at the fleet heading to the Muglins and then down towards bray head…then follow the race on the live trackers!!!!! With just about a week before the start, the Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race promises to be one of the exciting event on the offshore calendar with a 2 boat 2-handed match race to follow, a Class 40 expecting to lead the “Racing Division” on the water and 9 “Cruiser Division” entries who have no intention to take it easy!!! See final entry list below. The interactive map and trackers will soon be live so stay tune!!! Sailing Instructions are available to download here: Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Sailing Instructions 2011 Final Final Entry List (Revised)
Name of Boat Sail No. Model Colour LOA IRC TCC Sub Division Name Club
1 Spindrift IRL 1503 HR34 White 10.28 0.938 Cruiser David Kelly WHSC
2 Dinah IRL 3508 JOD 35 White 10.6 1.016 Two Handed Barry Hurley RIYC
3 Powder Monkey IRL 28892 J109 White 10.9m 1.028 Racing Chris Moore NYC
4 Lula Belle IRL 3607 Beneteau 36.7 White 10.66 1.019 Racing Liam Coyne NYC
5 Orna IRL 532 Grand Soleil 40C Blue 11.99 1.043 Racing Philip Dilworth NYC
6 Aquelina IRL 1281 J122 White 12.19 1.083 Racing Sheila/James Tyrrell Arklow SC
7 Ocean Blue IRL 1352 Pacific Seacraft 40 Cream 42' 0.936 Cruiser Francis Cassidy NYC
8 Raging Bull IRL 9666 Sigma 400 White 40' 1.027 Racing Matthew Davis Skerries SC
9 Emir Herr IRL 1118 Beneteau 47.3 Blue 14.15 1.037 Cruiser Liam Shanahan NYC
10 Premier Cru IRL 1152 Beneteau 50 Blue 48ft 1.125 Cruiser Alan Jackson HYC
11 Lisador IRL 1295 Dehler 36 White 36' 0.959 Racing Henry Hogg Garrykennedy SC
12 Jedi IRL 8088 J109 White 10.24 1.029 Racing Andrew Sarratt RStGYC/RIYC
13 Galway Harbour GBR 7386R Reflex 38 White 11.5m 1.057 Racing Martin Breen Galway Bay SC
14 Betty Boop IRL 285 Puppeteer 330S Blue/White 9.34 0.911 Racing John Alvey Poolbeg Y&BC
15 Mojito GBR 1536L Bavaria 39 White 11.99 0.988 Cruiser Peter Dunlop PWLLHELI
16 Fortuna Redux GBR 2568L Fast 42 White 12.8 1.067 Racing Steve Kershaw Holyhead YC
17 Yahtzee IRL 1068 Beneteau 411 White 12.7m 0.983 Cruiser Richard Mossop Calafort-Sea Scouts
18 English Mick GBR 4771R Beneteau 47.7 Blue 14.5 1.125 Racing Carol Payne / Ciaran young Poolbeg Y&BC
19 Tsunami IRL 4007 Beneteau 40.7 Grey 39' 1.061 Racing Vincent Farrell NYC
20 Sailing West Intuition GBR 9383R Reflex 38 Blue 28' 1.058 Racing Paul Adamson NYC
21 Sgrech GBR 9319R J109 White 10.24 1.021 Racing Stephen Tudor Pwllwew Sailing Club
22 Pride of Dalkey-Fuji GBR 38 Class 40 Green 40ft 1.251 Racing Alan McGettigan RIYC
23 Sunsari IRL 3201 Sunfast 32i White 9.45 0.945 Two Handed Tom Salter HYC
24 Legally Brunette IRL 4053 X41 White 41' 1.122 Racing Cathal P Drohan RStGYC
25 Persistance GBR 8237T Sigma 38 White/Navy 38' 0.985 Cruiser Jerry Collins RStGYC
26 Saxon Senator IRL 1447 X37 Blue 37' 1.039 Racing Wanfred/Eric Watermam RStGYC
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- D2D 2009 Report 37 boat started the 2009 race which saw a new record time of 24hrs 43 mins 45 secs being set by Michael Cotter's 'Whisper' The Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race is back in 2011...and now also officially part of the ISORA calendar!! Download the NOR & Entry Form: NoR D2D 11 Final If you need to train part of your crew, John Leahy will be running a Sea Survival Course in February. Details and booking here Amendment to NOR: 110404 Change to NoR 1 Here is the race report from the ISA website: Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race 2009 The National Yacht Club Dingle Skellig Hotel Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race 2009 finished in Dingle on Monday 8 June just 47 hours after the start in Dublin Bay making it the fastest D2D ever. This ninth race since the event commenced in 1993 was a record breaker in more ways than one: A new race record of 24hrs 43mins 45secs was set by Whisper. The previous race record of 32hrs 33 mins 49 secs. set by TP52 Patches in 2005 was beaten by no less than six boats in this year's race: Whisper, Tiamat, Orix Aviation, Legally Brunette, Pretty Polly and Antix Dubh. Highest boat speed ever achieved on a D2D: Whisper, 22.7 kts. Largest ever number of entries: 37 boats started. Smallest proportion of retireals: 5 The strong NE wind in the Irish Sea and along the South coast resulted a wild downwind charge over most of the course, followed by a short, light beat from the Skelligs to Dingle. 2009 Winners: Overall winner, Racing Class: Legally Brunette (X41) Cathal Drohan and Paul Egan skipper Maurice O'Connell, RStGYC Line Honours: Whisper (SWS 79), Michael Cotter, RStGYC Winner, Cruiser Class: Ridire Ban (Westerly Ocean 33), Mike McDonnell, Tralee Bay Sailing Club 2-Handed Class: Blackjack, Peter Coad and Darren Nicholson, Waterford Harbour SC