New Commodore and Committee Elected at the National Yacht Club 2019



The new Commodore and Committee were elected at the National Yacht Club AGM, held on March 25th, 2019.

This follows a formal Farewell dinner held the previous Saturday to thank outing Commodore Ronan Beirne for his outstanding service the Club.

The AGM was attended by 74 Full and Family members of the Club and incoming Commodore Martin McCarthy outlined the plans of the new Committee to build on the great work of previous Committees and develop the Club further as a dynamic and innovative venue for sailing families and individuals – in a rapidly changing environment where there are many competing demands on the time and commitment of younger members, especially.

The New Committee are:

Commodore:  Martin McCarthy 

Vice Commodore: Conor O’Regan 

Rear Commodore: Chris Doorly 

Honorary Secretary: Peter Sherry 

Honorary Treasurer: Jonathan Ryan

Sailing Secretary: Alan Balfe 

Boathouse Captain: Alan Turner 

Junior Section Secretary: Michéle Halpenny 

General Committee: John McNeilly 

General Committee: Peter Doran  

General Committee: Rosemary O’Connell

General Committee: Clodagh Nolan 

The new Committee met for the first time on Monday 1st April 2019


Back Row (L to R): John McNeilly, Peter Doran, Clodagh Nolan, Alan Turner, Peter Sherry

Front Row: Michele Halpenny, Chris Doorly, Martin McCarthy, Conor O’Regan, Rosemary O’Connell

Absent: Jonathan Ryan