National Yacht Club


Team Racing – The Elmo Cup 2022


Four NYC teams participated in The Elmo Cup Team Racing Event which was
hosted by the RSGYC last weekend .This is a Junior team racing event which also includes the Elmo trophy dinner which was on the Saturday night.Thirty Teams from around Ireland and the UK competed for the Perpetual Trophy which is named after the late Graham Elmes the founder of Irish Team Racing.The two day event saw the teams compete with 100 races in perfect sailing conditions being sailed on the first day alone.Great results on the first day with all four NYC Teams making Diamond, Gold, Silver and Bronze Fleets respectively.The second day there was less wind so more challenging for the sailors.Many congratulations to Alexander Trickett ( Team Captain), whose NYC Team including Ella Fitzgerald, Lucas Brown, Isobel O’Regan, James Walsh, Bella Gorman, Basil Dion and Louis Trickett won the Bronze Fleet.Well done also to NYC Sailors, Conor Gorman (Team Captain), David Duffy, Louise Hanley and Felix Dion, Sophie Gorman (Team Captain),Caoimhe Byrne, Zoe Hall, Lauren O’Callaghan,Emily Daly, Ben Elliot, Rachel Garvey, Lizzie Hall and James Hall, Hugh Meagher (Team Captain), Saoirse Corry, Siobhan Fitzgerald, Siofra O’Donnell, Theo Madigan and Cathal O’Regan.There was great team spirit and camaraderie over the weekend a lovely atmosphere for all the teenagers with teams comprising of Instructors, Assistants and Juniors and great NYC Team racing practise for other Team Racing Events.


Image 1 of 23